Shopping Cart

0 item(s) - 0.00€
Your shopping cart is empty!
Welcome visitor you can login or create an account.

In Flanders’ Fields vol. 96 : Where are the Snows of Yesteryear

In Flanders’ Fields vol. 96 : Where are the Snows of Yesteryear
Product Code: 92096
Availability: In Stock

Available Options

* Download or shipment?:


This CD gathers a number of lovely orchestral works that are threatening to fall into oblivion. It offers a kaleidoscopic (and Romantic) survey of what was being composed in Belgium throughout the 19th and in the beginning of the 20th century. Who still remembers the Antwerp composer Albert Grisar, when even Jef Maes does not seem likely to escape being forgotten? This is a fate that must not befall them. The cover shows an hand reaching for a branch in full bloom, symbolizing our prolific musical creation. It was designed by the young Antwerp artist Ephameron.



1 Albert Grisar (1808–1869) Le carillonneur de Bruges – Ouverture  09:30

2 Charles-Louis Hanssens (1802–1871) Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (1836)  17:11

3 August de Boeck (1865–1937) La Ronde du Sabbat for Orchestra  04:52

4 Jef Maes (1905–1996) Meditation for Violin and Orchestra (1929) 04:27

5 August de Boeck  Cantilène for Cello and Orchestra 05:42

6 Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868–1952) Treurdicht (Elegie nr. 4) for Orchestra  06:42

7 Lodewijk Mortelmans Lyrische Pastorale for Horn and Orchestra 07:41

8 Lodewijk Mortelmans Romanza for Violin and Orchestra (1910)  05:34

9 August de Boeck Valse dolente  03:12

TT 65:32


Milan Pala, violin
Diechje Minne, horn
Didier Poskin, cello
Filharmonie Hradec Kralové (CZ)
Conductor: Herman Engels

Listen to: Jef Maes, Meditation for violin and orchestra


Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Tags: 92096