Phaedra Classics 039 - Tchaikovsky meets Shakespeare PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893)TCHAIKOVSKY MEETS SHAKESPEARE The three symphonic works on this.. Product #: 292039 Regular price: $0.00 $0.00

Phaedra Classics 039 - Tchaikovsky meets Shakespeare

Duration: 69:22
CD-ID: 292039
Keywords: Tchaikovsky; Shakespeare
Release Date: 01-09-2018
Available in: CD, MP3, FLAC

Price: €0.00

* Choose desired format:
- +



The three symphonic works on this cd are attractive in a way that differs from his piano works. They are full of majesty, passion, sorrow and elegance and, together with other programmatic compositions, they constitute an important part of Tchaikovsly’s cultural heritage. When interpreting these three works, I felt it was essential that in them Tchaikovski wears his heart upon his sleeve.
As far as I know there is no piano transcription of the incidental music to Hamlet. Hence my transcription is a premiere. There are piano versions of Sleeping Beauty and of Romeo and Juliet, repectively by A. Siloti and by C. Bial. But these are piano reductions meant to make people become acquainted with the music; they are not intended for public performance. There is a piano transcrition meant for the stage of Sleeping Beauty, made by Mikhail Pletnev, but with just one exception that transcribes other movements of the ballet, than I do in my transcription of the suite.
So I made transcriptions myself. My aim was to retain the essence of the music and yet to make it sufficiently pianistic to let these works be piano works in their own right.

Kiyotaka Izumi


Hamlet Concert Suite 27 : 43
1 0verture 09 : 09
2 Entr'acte-Prelude to scene 1 and first appearance of Ophelia03 : 05
3 Entr'acte-Prelude to scene 1, which features Hamlet's soliloquy 03 35 'To be or not to be'
4 0phelia's Scene 02 : 55
5 Melodrame-The Players enact the Scene of the Poisoning 02 08
6 Entr'acte-Prelude to scene 1-A Room in the Castle 06 : 50

Sleeping Beauty Suite Op. 66a 20 21
7 Introduction : The Lilac Fairy 04 38
8 Adagio Pas d'Action 05:52
9 Pas de caractère : Puss-in-Boots and the White Cat 02 : 02
10 Panorama 03 : 21
11 Waltz 04 27

Romeo and Juliet 2117
12 Fantasy Overture after Shakespeare 21 : 17

TT 69:22

Transcriptions for piano solo by Kiyotaka Izumi
Kiyotaka Izumi, piano

KIYOTAKAKiyotaka Izumi was born in Tokyo, Japan. In 1995 he graduated from The Music High School attached to the Faculty of Music, Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music.
In 1997 he came to Belgium in order to pursue his studies at the Royal Flemish Conservatory in Music in Antwerp, under the supervision of Levente Kende and Heidi Hendrickx.

He performed in the International Chopin Festival in Ghent, as well as at the Royal Gala Concert for Prince Philip and Princess Mathilde of Belgium. He played with orchestras such as the National Orchestra of Belgium, the Academic Symphonic Orchestra of Volgograd, the Hermes Ensemble, the Concert Festival Orchestra, and the Orchestra of the Royal Conservatory of Antwerp. Kiyotaka has given concerts in many of Belgium’s most prestigious venues: the Center for Fine Arts (Bozar) in Brussels, the Singel in Antwerp, the Bijloke Concert Hall in Ghent, the Concertgebouw in Bruges. Abroad, he has performed on prominent stages in a.o the Netherlands, Luxemburg, Germany, Italy, England, Spain, Switzerland, Russia, Thailand and Japan.

Kiyotaka Izumi became laureate of several national and international piano competitions: the Machida Piano Competition (Japan 1992), the Benelux Young Virtuoso Competition (Belgium 1998), and the International EPTA Competition for Piano Duo (Belgium 1999), where he also received the SABAM Prize, the International Emmanuel Durlet Piano Competition (Belgium 2002), where he also received the special prize for the Best performance of the work of Emmanuel Durlet, the International Maria Yudina Competition for Piano Duo (Russia 2005), the special prize for the best performance of music by a Balearic Island Composer at the International Piano Competition Vila de Capdepera (Spain 2005), the International Competition - Un Ricetto in Musica for piano-duo (Italy 2008), the TV Music Award (France 2014), and the Concours Musical de France (France 2015).

In 2002 Kiyotaka received the Master of Music degree from the Royal Flemish Conservatory in Antwerp, with highest honours in piano. Afterwards he studied at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Brussels under the supervision of Professor Boyan Vodenitcharov. In 2005 he received the degree Specialization in Chamber Music from the Royal Conservatory in Brussels. In 2008 he received the Postgraduate Concert Soloist Degree with highest honours from the Royal Flemish Conservatory of Music in Antwerp. Kiyotaka already recorded 8 CD's with music by Chopin, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Grieg, Durlet, Raick and Kennis. His CD's and live concerts have been often broadcast by radio in Belgium, Germany and Japan.

Kiyotaka received several scholarships from organizations such as the Rotary Club, the Oranjebeurs (Holland) and the Stichting Conservatorium Antwerpen. He joined master classes given by Murray Perahia, Hans Leygraf, Jan Wijn and Jozef De Beenhouwer. He studied privately with Conrad Hansen in Hamburg, Germany.

Kiyotaka is a piano accompanist at the Royal Flemish Conservatory in Antwerp.
He teaches piano at the Municipal Academy of Music and Word in Borgerhout and Willebroek.